Jan Rage – Jii Firepaw and Insensitive Hypocrites

26 Apr

of·fend

Cause to feel upset, annoyed, or resentful.

hyp·o·crite

A person who indulges in hypocrisy.

hy·poc·ri·sy

The practice of claiming to have moral standards or beliefs to which one’s own behavior does not conform; pretense.

Definitions for those who decide to argue with me in the comments. Let’s be at least on the same page to start out with.

For those World of Warcraft players living under a rock, there was a large “scandal” involving Blizzard and a character named Jii Firepaw. He said some shit and it made people upset, so blizzard changed it. I didn’t care. I didn’t care it was offensive and I didn’t care that it was changed to be less offensive. What I do care about is the backlash to these women’s opinion; the people who were offended that they were offended.

As always when a minority speaks out, whether that be transgender, homosexuals or feminists, those more concerned with their own comfort than the message being presented flipped their shit. Messages like the following popped up everywhere:

I see some of these same players tweeting that someone harassed them in RL while walking down the street, at work, said something rude, made a grab at them, etc. I have never personally done this, nor ever witnessed any male or female in my presence ever do anything beyond give a “check them out” look. I bet if I merely walked by some of these people perhaps held the door for them and said “Hi, nice day isn’t it” they’d scream “PERV WHY ARE YOU TRYING TO MARGINALIZE ME?!” Um, I was being nice and making conversation…but ok.

I won’t even start in on the idiocy of such statements. I will point out that this criticism has nothing to do with the issue at hand, but is a common knee jerk reaction some men have whenever they hear the word “sexism.” Unfortunately, some feminists have their own knee jerk reactions that boils down to: if you’re not offended with me, you’re a horrible, terrible person and insist they’re speaking for “all women.”

And that’s where the beginnings of my rage starts. Ceraphus, of The Sundering podcast got tired of that argument, as most people who just don’t give a fuck are likely to be, and wrote a blog saying as much. Towards the end, his message gets a little lost when he discusses how he wants diverse characters who are sexist and says incidents like the Jii Firepaw dialogue are “minor infractions.” Immediately the feminists were all over him, missing the entire message of his blog and honing in on the parts where the meaning could be interpreted in a way that had nothing to do with Ceraphus’ point. On this part, Oestrus said it best in her blog:

We have become so wrapped up in drawing our battle lines, in giving certain words or phrases so much power over us that we have forgotten what goes into those words to trigger these responses in us.  We have stopped asking people what they mean when they do or say things and we just take these words or these actions at face value.  In the rare occasions where someone is asked what they meant by something they did or said, it’s very likely that the person who is asking the question already has their mind made up and there is nothing that the person on the receiving end of the question can do to change their minds.  They have already decided that this person has done wrong and they are basically just asking for clarification to drive their point home.  They have no intention of giving this person the opportunity to clear the air or to right a perceived wrong.

Rightly so, Ceraphus was pissed about the personal attacks that came from the feminists and decided to make it a discussion topic on his podcast. The discussion started and ended with insults of those who called for Jii Firepaw to have his dialogue changed and everyone being offended at the people offended. The comments came mostly from the listeners, not from the hosts, but in the end, they did agree with these people. The message ended up coming across as, “If you don’t like it, tough and shut up because I’m not bothered by it.” They told those who were offended to seek help, without knowing if they already were trying to get help, or with much sympathy for why people could be offended by this one line. Instead, they were insisting that these feminists should deal with their feelings because they should never have been insulted in the first place, that they should have kept quiet so they can have a diverse, sexist character to make the World of Warcraft more realistic.

But why? Why does it matter so much if these people care that a dialogue offended them? It was one line. It does not affect me in any way if that one line is offending or if it’s being changed. One line of dialogue does not form a character’s personality, it does not craft a story, it does not change who Jii Firepaw is. The leader of the Horde Pandarens made one sexist comment and that does not make him sexist. Blizzard did not have to go through and change all his lines, just one. So how can anyone say he was meant to be a diverse, sexist, flawed character in the first place?

Llandrywyn on the MMOC forums said:

“If a character can be conveyed in the same terms, for the same overall feeling and with the same overall character traits, is it not just good and respectful practice for the designers to minimize content that might offend?”

Besides that, what is wrong with being respectful of other’s views, whether or not we agree with them? Not everyone arguing for a change insisted they had to be agreed with. They didn’t all call Ceraphus names and tell him he was horrible for not caring about this sexist comment. Oestrus said it best, “If I have to respect someone’s right to be offended, then they have to respect my right to not be offended. That’s all I’m saying.”

And that’s all I’m saying! Stop caring about other people caring! If you are bitching about the people who are bitching, you’re a hypocrite, plain and simple. Everyone has their own pet peeves, is offended by something trivial and has the right to express that just as you have the right to not be bothered by it. They don’t have to sit quiet and take it and if what they want doesn’t affect you, why are you fighting against it?

11 Responses to “Jan Rage – Jii Firepaw and Insensitive Hypocrites”

  1. stomination April 30, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    The problem is groups thinking the won a victory. All in all both sides got what they wanted. An npc with personality that does not hit on virtual pandas because his coding tells him to.

  2. davegt61 April 26, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    To clear up a couple things

    Its not that I like my characters to be sexist, I like to have flawed characters in my entertainment, it provides a sense of struggle, if done well. If that wasn’t clear in my blog then that is my fault and I apologize.

    Second, to clear up another misconception of my post, I was upset that when I told someone that I wasn’t upset about Ji, and felt they could have written it better, but didn’t care, I immediately was called a sexist and an asshole. It was this that prompted me to write my post on why its ok to not be offended. Though I was already writing it on other things such as Mass Effect, but thats a whole different discussion.

    Lastly it is ok to not be offended, its ok to be offended. Just like religion I don’t like people pushing their religion on me, same thing here, have your views, they are yours, I can think for myself, if I disagree with you, don’t sit there and tell me I am the worst person in the world.

    To the first commenter, I agree why is it no one cares that the alliance and horde are killing each other just because the prescribe to different socio-economic position.

    But whatever, I just want to kill dragons.

    • janaelle April 26, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      I’m not sure your comment is directed at me, but I’ll respond as such because if it IS, I feel I need to.

      Your first two points are why I think your original blog post got attacked. I understood that you didn’t mean them as they came across because I understood the meaning of your blog and I agree with the meaning. Some people didn’t get that and thus why you were being attacked.

      Your reactions in the blog and on the podcast did not bother me in any way except to not contradict things that, in MY opinion, are wrong. The comment quoted above for one. After I had listened to the podcast a second time, I realized that it was really the end of the discussion section that set me off and had also colored my entire view of the rest, which was why I said above “The message ended up coming across as, ‘If you don’t like it, tough and shut up because I’m not bothered by it.’” Paraphrasing, but that was said only once or twice and most of the opinions of the hosts were “it is ok to not be offended, its ok to be offended,” but the end argument by Xia and the opening idiotic statement (that I quoted) blasted apart anything else said.

      I’d blame it all on Ray, but he forgot what his opinion even was and never gave it XD

      • Ceraphus April 27, 2012 at 8:08 am #

        Ray would forget, so I would probably blame him

  3. Xpiatio April 26, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I’d have to agree with what Cerphus has said. I take the stance that the offense exists in the land of fiction and coincides with many artistic expressions of fiction. But really, is it just a morality issue at stake?

    Why explode this issue up but at the same time, we are not up in arms about how war chiefs were killed or how there is actually killing in WoW? Or how the worgen have been oppressed in battle by the undead? Or perhaps the ethnic cleansing of the worgen in the forest near the Undead capital? Why are we not up in arms about the weapons of mass destruction or chemical warfare through the plague?

    Last time I checked murder was a more greivious (?sic) offense than making a comment.

  4. Apple Cider April 26, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    I’m still really confused about people saying that no one is respecting their right to not be offended. It feels like there’s some step of logic here that I’m missing – if you didn’t care before, and you don’t care now, I personally don’t care that much. It is when people want to defend their opinion about how much they don’t care, that’s where it tends to get muddy. If you want to have opinion about why you don’t care, then that opinion can be criticized. I don’t get any of this, personally.

    I’ve seen a lot of blog posts talking about this and that, no names, just “let me do this” and “these people” and “THE feminists” as vague and monolithic entities.

    It gets kinda tiring after a while to try and confront things that you aren’t even sure are addressing you.

    • janaelle April 26, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      This one wasn’t addressing you. Once the dialogue change went out, there were some self-declared feminists saying that if you weren’t offended by this, you were a terrible person (not their words). They were also saying they had brought this to everyone’s attention “for their sake.” Ceraphus’ original blog was addressing this, as was my last Oestrus’ quote.

      • Apple Cider Mage April 26, 2012 at 11:14 am #

        I think the whole “you weren’t offended by this” is really a response to the “well I’m not bothered, you shouldn’t be” – there were people saying that people shouldn’t be bothered either.

        I don’t even know anymore.

    • Apple Cider Mage April 26, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      I know that it is because I’m one of the people talking about Ji on my blog but I get really …frustrated when my blog is linked and then the entry talks about what shitty things feminists do. It just feels like it’s obtusely directed at me.

      It doesn’t hurt my feelings per se, but there you have it.

      • janaelle April 26, 2012 at 11:16 am #

        Your blog was linked as a point to say, “Hey, not all feminists are doing the thing you’re saying all feminists are doing.” Besides that, the blog is not directed at feminists, but the people telling them to not be offended and go get counseling.

        I am not going to apologize for saying that some feminists do shitty things, because they do. All minorities have their crazies and the one that sparked this entire debacle is totally off her rocker.

    • Oestrus April 26, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      I’m not going to launch off into something major on someone else’s blog, but I will say that your comment is full of irony and complete lack of self-awareness.

      I would like to say that I’m surprised to see such a comment from you, but sadly this has become all too familiar from you and yours lately.

Disagree? Have an opinion?

