Controller Breaking Nerd Rage

27 Apr

Abric, the guest from Episode 52 of 5wowthings, sent me a link to a blog about throwing controllers. Some of you may know, as I finished Mass Effect 3 a week after it came out, I threw my controller across the room and it broke. This is the controller:

Doesn’t look very broken, now does it? I figure one of the little bits and bobs on the inside that they make in Japan and I don’t understand at all broke off and can be fixed by being soldered back on. I don’t have any idea how to do that, so I just use the other controller I own and this sits around as a paper weight.

No big deal. Well, there is this spot:

That’s where the paint tore when this got ripped off the wall by the flying controller:

It’s just a hook I use to hang stuff on. I have several and there’s about a foot of space between each so it’s damn good aim on my part. But to be honest, this isn’t the first time I’ve thrown a controller, or anything that is immensely pissing me off. I broke a flute once and my steering wheel receives a lot of abuse.

Some people think it’s immature and sure, why not. I’m not going to debate the maturity of it, but you know what? When that controller made a sickening thud against the wall I felt a hell of a lot better. I externalize my anger, screaming, shouting and throwing shit because it makes me feel better. It relieves my stress.

So to the guy who said:

People who smash $50 controllers are childish douche bags. What a fucking waste of not only $50 but also the parts/materials that goes into making a controller. Plain stupid.

Video games shouldn’t be taken so seriously….

I want you to know that next time I’m stuck on the same boss for over two hours, that controller is gonna sale across the room once more and I’m perfectly alright with the immaturity in that.

2 Responses to “Controller Breaking Nerd Rage”

  1. leo steemfest August 8, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Some games have an easy difficulty setting that is suppose to be for casual gamers and let you have fun with the game, well Max Payne 3 is not one of them. Videogames are for having fun, but now a days games are so hard because most nerd noobs who spend 14hrs a day on playing them ask for this, but the casual gamer gets nothing but frustration.

  2. James April 28, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    I saw this post syndicated (which links here) on wowmarketeer.com =) Nice post and I must say I have killed many keyboards by raging from losing BGs lol

Disagree? Have an opinion?

