Reasons to Buy Rare Replay

3 Aug

Alright, so I don’t own an Xbox One yet, but I’m going to within the year. How else will I play Gears of War 4? That’s not coming out until next year, however, so the first game I’m going to buy for my new system is going to be Rare Replay and here’s why you should grab it too.

Thanks to shitty craftsmanship, the Xbox 360 is a ticking time bomb waiting to shit itself into oblivion. Every gamer is familiar with the red ring of death so picking up Rare Replay ensures I can play some of my favorite Xbox 360 games without shelling out cash to keep the system in working condition. However, companies walk a thin line when asking you to repurchase their games. Atlus (Shin Megami Tensei) keeps things interesting by adding new gameplay. Gearbox Software (Borderlands) makes the price so ridiculously low that why not buy it three or four times? Square Enix (Final Fantasy) just wants you to buy the game again because they kind of did some stuff to the art. Rare Replay goes a step further, giving you THIRTY games that span multiple systems – like from that Xbox I never bought and my N64 which doesn’t work any more.

Not every game is going to be a winner, but here’s what I’m looking forward to:

Banjo Kazooie logo.png

When I was in middle school, my mother rented Banjo-Kazooie for me for one glorious weekend. Then she took it back to the store and I never got to play it again. A colorful puzzle solving/platform game, Banjo-Kazooie was one of the best games on the N64. While it was re-released via Xbox Live Arcade on the 360, I took issue with this system (*cough* money grab) and didn’t purchase a damned thing they offered. I’ll finally be able to save Tooty from Gruntilda thanks to Rare Replay.

Banjo-Tooie Coverart.png

The sequel to Banjo-Kazooie, Banjo-Tooie is also on my list of games I just never got to play. Critically acclaimed, it followed it’s predecessor as another puzzle solving/platform game. If I enjoy both this and Banjo-Kazooie (like I expect I will) I’ll then get to play Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts which is also included in Rare Replay.


No game has ever captured my attention like Viva Pinata. The colorful animals, decorations for your garden, and weird plot kept me enthralled for hours upon end. I collected two of every Pinata, convinced them to have babies, and generally fussed around as much as possible. It was a blast. When I found out it was being re-released, I nearly picked up the game that night just to indulge my nostalgia. However, I think I”ll wait until I own Rare Replay.

Conkersbfdbox.jpg
Conker’s Bad Fur Day
, also known as Conker: Live and Reloaded, was the first game to introduce me to Mature game play. Like South Park: The Stick of Truth, if you haven’t played it, you’re missing out on a piece of gaming history. An action platformer with graphic cartoon violence, alcohol use, tobacco use, swearing, pop culture references, and dark/vulgar humor, Conker’s Bad Fur Day is a riot every second. A little short and with some shitty camera work (that I hear was fixed in Live and Reloaded) it was an amazing game. Rare Replay would be worth the buy for this game alone.

Kameo: Elements of Power was one of the first games released for the Xbox 360 and the trailer looked a little sketchy. When I got my hands on this action-adventure beat ’em up, I found a wonderful (if short) world with a fiery protagonist and a game with entertaining, variable game play. It’s not a game I would play again as it has little replay value, but if you haven’t gotten your hands on it yet it is another reason to pick up Rare Replay.

The above games don’t stand alone. If none of the games I think are must plays, maybe you have your own! Below is the full list of games coming out in Rare Replay. Leave a comment and tell me why you have to have it.

Disagree? Have an opinion?

