Top 5 Games of 2014

19 Jan

With all the games that came out last year, it shouldn’t have been easy to pick the top five games of the year. Instead it was effortless. With no further ado, let’s get down to it (especially since I’m half a month late)!

Number One – Divinity: Original Sin

My review for Divinity: Original Sin can be found here so if you’d like details of the game, check it out. It made my top pick because of the amazing story, the beautiful music and graphics. Spending time with this game was a treat every minute. Until this game came back, I hadn’t realized just how much I had missed the old Dungeons and Dragons games. With any luck we’ll get plenty more like it since this has been such a success.

Number Two – South Park: The Stick of Truth

Absolutely the most hilarious game I have every played, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a laugh at the beginning, middle and end. Even the music made me laugh on more than one occasion with it’s insane lyrics. The scenes in this game are jaw dropping ridiculous, but the reason it makes my list is because of the game play. With four classes to choose from and entertaining side kicks, it was as much fun the first time around as the second. If you haven’t checked it out yet, you’re missing out!

Number Three – Murdered: Soul Suspect

I reviewed Murdered: Soul Suspect a few months ago. The story had be on the edge of my seat and wasn’t anything I’d experienced yet. Unfortunately, the game play was lacking with little more than point and click detective work and the occasional oogy-boogy to avoid. If we’re lucky, we’ll see another Murdered game in the future.

Number Four – Bravely Default

Bravely Default is the best JRPG from Square Enix in a long time. That may not be a popular opinion, but I’ve never been a huge fan of the Final Fantasy series. The new Bravely games are a breath of fresh air, even if the story line went in literal circles for a while. I hope the series continues for as long as the Final Fantasy games have gone.

Number Five – Persona Q

Recently I reviewed Persona Q and you can find that here. The first new entry in the Persona franchise in quite a while, I was very pleased with this game despite all its differences from the rest of the Persona games. The dungeon crawler ate up many hours and I am looking forward to my next play through.

Disagree? Have an opinion?